Skip to content

Day 22: Girl with a Pearl Earring

January 23, 2010

Alas, I am back on track. With the help of my lovely boyfriend (who gave me an amazing book as a gift for a recent celebration) I am only two books away from my January goal. I literally read “Girl with a Pearl Earring” by Tracy Chevalier in one sitting (I have been reading since about 6:00 this evening), and it was so beautifully written that I didn’t notice that I hadn’t moved from my chair in the cafe on the freshman campus (the only reason I have 5 hours of free time on a Friday evening is recruitment). All who know me know that I wear my heart on my sleeve, so I appreciated an unrequited love story that actually ends well. Something about Greit, a young protestant girl who is forced into being a maid for a wealthy Catholic family when her father can no longer work, is easy to relate to. Although the closest I have ever come to manual labor is working at a grocery store while I was in high school.

What I found most interesting about reading this book is that while the plot is ficticious, the characters–the painter Vermeer and his wife Catharina–are real people. (It HAS to be true, I read it on Wikipedia.) No, but seriously, when I realized that the painting on the cover of the book looked vaguely familiar, I looked up his name, and its all real: the paintings that Chevalier references in her book actually exist. My mind grapes were blown.*

The Tally:
Days Left: 343
Books Read: 7

*If you are not familiar with the term “mind grapes,” please watch more 30 Rock. Goodnight.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

