Skip to content

Day 21: The World to Come

January 21, 2010

My apologies to my 2 or so loyal readers (I’m talking about you, Mom). With the passing of my 21st birthday and a whirlwind of research falling into my lap, this book has crept along very slowly. As I mentioned before, I’m currently reading “The World to Come” by Dara Horn. And by currently reading, I mean that I have foregone microeconomic policy reading and problem sets just to get to the last few chapters. It was recommended to me by my boyfriend, and what a great recommendation. It really has everything that one person could want in a book–stories of war, stories of love, and a little bit of loss, but not so much that I want to tear the pages out and jump out of my window (see “The Unbearable Lightness of Being” post from earlier this month…) If you, like myself, are a fan of novels that have multiple plot lines that weave together and jump around a bit, this book is for you! Especially because my reading time has been broken up into bits and pieces–10 minutes on the bus, 45 minutes after my stat lab is done, 1 hour while waiting for a round of sorority recruitment to end–I think that this book has been perfect. The stories are constantly evolving, the characters are all intertwined and it holds my entertainment incredibly well.

The Tally:
Books Read: 6 (almost 6, I’ll be done with the last few pages by the time my classes end today)
Days left: 344
Goal for the end of January: 3 more books.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

