Skip to content

Day 8: The Earth Hums in B Flat

January 8, 2010

When you read, do you know that feeling that you don’t want to come to the last page of the book, that you don’t want to sleep no matter how exhausted you are and you can’t think about anything else until everything is resolved in the story? How often do you find a novel that does that–where even on the busiest day you find three straight hours to sit on the couch with your dog and just read.

I don’t think I’ll be able to say enough good things about this book. It’s definitely my favorite of the four books I’ve read thus far and its not one that I will soon forget (I even skipped watching House to read. That never happens.) I think this might also be the first time that I finished a single book in under 24 hours since I was in 5th grade and obsessed with the newly-published Harry Potter series (it also says a lot considering work today was pretty busy and I was left to my own devices attempting to get through a mountain of ads). I think what I loved about the book is that Gwenni, the main character, is a twelve-and-a-half year old that you can actually relate to. She has a big imagination and in insatiable curiosity and even though her small town–and her family–is involved in serious tragedy, she doesn’t know any better than to be naive and sweet. She has an astounding lack of cynicism for someone in her situation, which can really only be attributed to the fact that she is so young and wrapped up in her own little world. I have a feeling that if either of my parents read this book, they would think her to be a bit like me. Her mother is always calling her “odd,” he nose is constantly in a book and she has an imagination that runs away from reality. She’s definitely my kind of leading character. Also, the plot was very compelling–there is no way that if you start reading this book that you will voluntarily put it down.

I don’t really want to give away what the story itself is or what unfolds in the 300-some pages, but I can’t say this enough: go read it.

As for my next endevour, I’m trying to decide from three books that came in the mail today: “100 Years of Solitude,” “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” or “A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius.” Any suggestions?

The Tally:
Days Left: 348
Books Read: 4 (at this rate, I could read 182 books this year. Highly doubtful that I will want/be able to do that once class starts on Wednesday. I’m moving into my new apartment for the semester tomorrow so hopefully I can get some reading done tonight).

Hope everyone is staying warm! Cheers, Christine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

