Skip to content

Day 2: My Reading List & The Great Gatsby

January 2, 2010

Since I made my resolution (less than a day ago), I have spent a significant portion of my idle vacation time making lists of books to read. I really didn’t set any rules about what 99 books I would select, but I am typically a fan of fiction & literature, sometimes I can even stomach a biography or a book of short stories. And while I am one of those readers who loves to read books 3 or 4 times, I want to read new titles during this project. With a few exceptions…

I have started my first book of the year: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Now, this book is a classic and I would be embarrassed if I had to admit that I have never read it. Luckily, it was required reading in my 10th grade English class, and even then (when the pace was set by my overbearing high school teacher and I was required to write a report on the book every so often), I absolutely loved it. However, I have my copy sitting on my nightstand and I couldn’t for the life of me tell you the plot of the novel.

So this is going to be my first book of the decade. I’m happy with the selection and I’m 150ish pages in so far, hopefully I’ll finish it by the end of the day (is it weird if I go to Barnes and Noble to read it? There aren’t a wealth of normal coffee shops around here so I am constantly attempting to find a quiet and peaceful place where I can sit for a few hours without being disturbed). So far its as great as I remember, and I recall that even 5 years ago I became far too invested in the characters (which is happening again).

Other than that, the project so far is going well. I’ve purchased all the books that I will need for January (and thank God for the Barnes and Noble membership card…However, I have found that buying books online–I used half.com–is incredibly affordable as well. 10 books for $50. I’m hoping that I have enough room to store all these books in my apartment this year. I need to remind myself to invest in a good bookshelf before this thing gets going).

The Tally
Days left: 363
Books read: Almost 1
Pages read (total): 154

3 Comments leave one →
  1. BEST ROOMIE EVAHH ;) permalink
    January 2, 2010 10:01 pm

    HIIIIII!!!!! this is so cool and just proves once again that we are twinsies. after watching julie and julia all i wanted was to write my own blog, but couldn’t think of anything interesting enough. but this is perf! tho proud, also you are a thexy spy, miss you love you talk to you soonnn ❤

  2. Jessica permalink
    January 4, 2010 2:55 am

    im looking forward to reaading your blog and get inspiration/recommendations from you. have you tried paperbackswap.com? you basically have a wishlist and swap books to and from people from all around the country. since i started a few years ago (someone in SS told me about it) and i havent spent 1 cent on a book since.

    • Christine permalink*
      January 4, 2010 11:35 am

      I’ll definitely have to check out paperbackswap…What a cool idea! And I hope you enjoy reading…Don’t feel shy about suggesting or adding your own thoughts about books.
      Cheers, Christine

Leave a Reply

